Day 6: Malota

Malota (@NiiN0i) was one of the people I actually pressured to write here in this challenge. He loves… Well, let me allow him tell you what he loves.

==========================================================================================================================

2011 has been a year of moments, people and also about the little things.

Moments and not days made my year, not the countless hours spent at the side of the woman I love but those seconds that I could see love in her actions, hear it in her words and feel it as though those heels were being drummed against my thighs. The moment a colleague called me over and asked whether I had been laid off because my name was not included in the recipients of an email from the boss; she was the only one who noticed it. The moment I woke up to find my mother lying beside me because of a misunderstanding I had with my dad, in tears because the two men in her life were fighting. That night, I broke down and apologized to them both. I learned a little bit about love that morning. The moment I was asked about IPv4 and IPv6 and I could not answer and “What is a Kernel?” followed. I could not believe I was applying for a position in a telecom company and I did not know the basics. That moment was one of the lowest; I felt like the worst shit an elephant had ever dropped on the surface of this earth but I still got the job!

I learned this year that the little things really matter; it isn’t about the big actions, the flashy or noticeable things. It’s about the prayers, the encouraging words, the jokes, time, the actions borne out of genuine concern and love. Only God knows how many times I have been down and a random person’s smile or action has made me feel good and okay.

I planted some seeds this year; at least I hope they are. I got to speak to some kids in a primary school about technology (telecommunication). The questions they asked scared me. If they continue to think without limits and boundaries, nothing would be beyond them. There was nothing called impossible for them, it was always why? Why cant we do this? Why does this behave this way? Their hunger for knowledge was great. I remember one kid asking how come medicine was not sent to rural areas through the mobile phone. I just hope they grow with this hunger and that I reap the fruits in the near future.

A low point this year was watching a girl I had loved since childhood marry a random dude …(Editor: Pssst!!! Err…. Malota!! Romance!!!)  I know I should be happy for her because there was no way I could marry her but I just felt like she married too early. I cried as I watched the dad hand her over and a piece of me died. (Editor: Sighs. It happens. It can pain.)

Let me borrow a style employed by one of the people whose posts inspire me, this is a line from the song The badness by J. Cole. It says all I want to say about the low points.
I seen a baby cry then seconds later she laughed, the beauty of life, the pain never lasts. The rain always past, the sun don’t always shine

A personal high is that after my relationship which lasted less than a dragon’s orgasm I realized that I did not close my heart or think all girls are the same. I wasn’t scared to trust again but I was hesitant to thrust again and I still am. Hopefully, I get over it soon. (Editor: Yes. Hopefully!)

If I were asked to name this year I would call it The Year Of The Nigerians. A good high this year, I met most of them first through their words on blogs and then twitter. They are the most diverse group of people one can find on this earth. I just have this mad love for the people of Nigeria. They are passionate about their country, its ills and everything about it. But I can never bring myself to love their movies.

I “met” so many people on the social networks, people keep saying it’s a virtual world, you don’t know them but these people that I don’t know were the ones who were there when I was low and needed an outlet, they tolerated my bullshit. They encouraged me with their ‘deep’ words, made me laugh with their jokes and some made me wonder with their pictures, stories and poems. These people helped me remain sane for that I will be forever grateful.

Efe thanks for this opportunity, you are one of the people that I met and can never forget.

=================

No. Thank you Malota. For Shared, I mean for sharing. 🙂 Valerie takes the floor tomorrow. Do not forget to return. See you!