Day 21: Wale

2013…

There are many ways in which I could choose to write about how 2013 went for me. It was a year filled with joyful moments, sad times, disappointments, anger, some depression and thanksgiving. I choose to be thankful and see things from the glass half full perspective knowing that in the remaining days, Baba God could just decide to fill the cup to overflowing.

To understand my outlook in 2013, I need to talk a little about 2012.

I concluded in MSc degree in December 2012. That year turned out to be one of the best I ever spent. My MSc was fully sponsored by an IOC and it was luxury for me all the way. However, it turned out that the likelihood of being offered an appointment by the company was slim so I started looking elsewhere.

2013 started on a bright note. I was relieved to be through with my MSc and I felt I needed a few weeks to rest. I ended up resting for 7 months! 

A lot of other things were happening though.

I made a conscious effort to be closer to my family and I tried in my own little way. I’m the only guy in a family of 3. I used to have a younger brother but we lost him in 2002, the year I left secondary school. I guess I reacted to this in a bad way and this way was by isolating myself. Time spent in school away from home and in my room while at home ensured that I never really bonded with anyone in my immediate family. I resolved to change this in 2013 and I believe I’m getting better.

We organized a birthday party for my mum this year. Seeing her happy that day remains one of the highlights of my year. She had never really celebrated her birthday before to my knowledge. So, I arranged with my sisters, invited a few friends and put a smile on her face. I also had 2 major disagreements with her late this year. I’m happy my dad didn’t support anyone but resolved it amicably or I would have just disappeared into my shell in the family. Thank God we disagreed to agree and all is now well.

God also gave me a nephew this year. I’m so happy to have him with us. Though it took a long time before I garnered courage to carry him (I’m not just comfortable carrying babies, I’m scared I’ll drop them or something) I’m happy I did at some point and I love him so much.

My best friend moved to Yankee in August this year. He was sent on cross posting by his accounting firm and he’ll be there for 2.5 years. He’s worked extremely hard for it and I’m very happy for him.

Back to my job hunting. In the beginning, I was positive that things would sort themselves out in no time and I’d get an excellent job. Weeks turned into months and my happiness index nose-dived with no positive feedback from anywhere.

However, there’s a spin to my job hunting. In the middle of all the happenings, I had to make one of the most difficult decisions I’ve ever made in my life. I turned down an offer from an IOC!

Let me explain, Sometime in February, I got a call to come for a test with a certain IOC. Few weeks later, I got a call that I passed the test but that the test was for a 2 – year foreign masters’ degree in the IOC’s parent country after which I’d be given a job offer. It was an offer difficult to reject and I seriously toyed with the idea of taking it. The downside was that I already have a masters in same course they wanted me to study (which they were aware of) and I felt the 2 years was an absolute waste of my life. I ended up rejecting the offer the day I was supposed to go for my visa interview.

One of my other major disappointments during the year was being called up for a job test and interview by the same company that offered me the Master’s scholarship. About 6 of us were called and we were supposed to do the test in the morning and interview after lunch. Somehow, after passing the test, I was called in and was prevented from going for the interview because someone felt I was likely to pass the interview and he didn’t want one person (me) to have  2 offers (job and masters) from the same company. I felt terrible after this episode and almost got depressed as a result.

However, God showed up. Out of nothing, A Petroleum engineer who was consulting on a project for a company brought me in to assist him on that project. Incidentally, I had to work in the office of the firm he was consulting for and after 2 weeks of working there, the MD of the company offered me a job. I didn’t even have to write a test or do any interview. He just saw my work for those 2 weeks and made me an offer. It’s not the perfect place I would love to work but I’m learning that God wants to take me through this life and my career, one baby step at a time. And I’m grateful.

And to my highlight of the year. On the 3rd of March, I asked my sweetheart of many years if she would like to be my Wife, And She said YES!!! She’s been with me through it all, she knows me inside out and 1 year after buying the ring, I gained the courage to ask and I’m thankful she agreed to go through life with me. So, by the time I’m writing this next year (hopefully), I’ll be married to my heartthrob for eternity.

On my relationship with God, I’d say I’m in a transitional period. At some point, church lost its appeal to me. I wasn’t losing my faith, I was just not moved by organized religion and especially the way we practice Christianity in Nigeria. I might end up changing place of worship in 2014. I pray God leads me in whatever decision I take. I pray he holds my hand every time I ought to pray. I pray he draws me close to him once again and never lets me go.

Finally, I just want to say I’m thankful to God for how the year panned out. I didn’t have all I wanted but all I ever needed, he provided. And this is my summary for the year – 2013 was the year God showed up and provided all I needed. I’m thankful for those friends that were there during the dark times. God bless you guys.
Here’s to a 2014 that brings me a better Job, a successful wedding and a better relationship with my family and God.

=========================================

The struggles you had to go through in these mid life formative years are the stuff men are made of. Congratulations bro.

5 thoughts on “Day 21: Wale

  1. Ibukun says:

    Wish you a great year next year!

  2. Jk_McDazzles says:

    Congrats on your job and engagement but one year after buying ring huh?! Man!

Tell me what you think

