Day 19: Emmanuel

‘I want to live for the moments, that are gone before we’re thinking about them, singing this cause we’d be nothing without them, and this is my anthem’- My Anthem- Christina Grimmie.

The mind is a curious thing, we link important events to songs, memories, colors, odors, as though anchoring them, not unlike how we tie down a helium balloon, or a ship so they don’t drift away and get lost amidst waves of the thousands of relatively less significant events we slug through to the next defining moment. So allow me to dredge up my anchors here, temporarily.

You caught me guilty, taking the pieces of you…’ – No Room For Doubt- Lianne La Havas

Nothing like a messy situationship to start the year. I paid with depression and a week of absences but an introduction to self-love was worth it.

Bitch, I’m grown’- Grown Woman- Beyoncé Gisele Knowles Carter

I’d been waiting for this day for as long as I can remember but midnight on the 21st of May didn’t feel any different from an hour, or 17 years earlier. It was telling, I guess, because then I decided I’d have to make the changes I wanted to see, from bigger goals like an A in Pathophysiology (which I achieved, quite easily, hold your applause) to smaller ones like calling my momma more often (baby steps, lol, baby steps).

Don’t tell me my youth is running out, it’s only just begun’ Youth- Foxes

The most debaucherous of summers. I’m surprised, yet grateful that I walked away unscathed, albeit with a trail of destruction behind. Whirlwind romances, a little trouble with the law. I saw a dark side to my family, particularly my extended family, saw a more human side to the parents, appreciate them a little more. I suppose I’ll have to work on my relationship with my family eventually, but again, baby steps.

Avant Grade by Lanvin- sinful, just sinful.

Withdraw- Kimbra

I found myself having to leave behind someone who for the first time in a while I didn’t want to.

We long for freedom, for freedom, You’re free but in your mind, your freedom’s in a bind” Many Moons- Janelle Monae.

I became something of a secular humanist this year, though I despise that term. I’d rather call it just being more… human. Giving people free rein to be whatever and whoever they want, recognizing and avoiding prejudices etc. Basically attempting to treat people better, regardless of race, gender, class, religion etc.

If there’s a future we want it now’ Now- Paramore.

I started making concrete plans towards my future, as I say often I’m leaving room to explore various paths, but I know for certain where I don’t want to be in say, five years and that will suffice. And I’m grateful for that choice.

All in all it’s been a pretty uneventful year, just chalking down more lessons, preparing for exams, and reveling in the holidays, and looking forward to a much better year.

Uhm…

Create a playlist of songs that make you happiest.

Instead of getting sad when you fail, get mad.

Girl, leave drunk-texting in 2013. Matter of fact leave getting wasted as a whole, ‘no’? Oh Okay.

Give yourself little gifts every once in a while, who can possibly pamper you better than you?

Listen more.

A teaspoon of black pepper is sufficient, no matter what, just trust me.

Make that mistake, this one time, it may turn out well, but if it doesn’t? You’ll never make it again.

Exercise, drink lots of water, get as much sunshine as possible.

Just stay hopeful.

Here’s to great holidays that’ll leave you happy and constipated, and a much better 2014.

=====================

Emmanuel your story is a joy to read for its simplicity. It’s sha not possible to be your friend without listening to all this music *eye roll* Thank you very much for sharing 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Day 19: Emmanuel

  1. bdojuri says:

    Of all the 2013 Reviews I’ve read, I like how you told yours best. Hope you have the 2014 you want.
    Are you actually 17 though? Or I read that wrong?

  2. K says:

    So this is my first comment ever. I’ve been following the review from day 1. totally love what you did with the songs…… I hope I can write a review about my 2013

  3. Jk_McDazzles says:

    Smiles..

Tell me what you think

