Day 11: Chioma

If you invite me for a Christmas or end of year party, I will most likely split the story of my year into three parts.

I will talk about being fired, not in a humiliated manner but as a joke. The manner in which it happened, an open letter to be stamped by the secretary of my unit. I will explain that I actually wasn’t incompetent, and talk about the politics; I wont forget to share that I wasn’t the only one affected and we will spend 5 minutes talking about the corrupt system while I try (in a haze of alcohol at that point) to use big words to remind you of my intelligence.

My second story will narrate the woes of entrepreneurship… I will be quick to tell you after getting fired that I am not jobless and I work for myself now and it’s ohh so challenging. I will tell you about the Director of photography that cancelled on me the night before I had to shoot a commercial. This was obviously because I caught him trying to get one up on me and overcharge me by over N400k. I will also tell you how I overcame that obstacle. If you are still listening, with a few more drinks, I might drop some names.

My third story will also be a work story, about people that you pay to do work but don’t deliver. We will talk about how this is normal, I will share that I got my money back and you will say I am lucky; most people don’t get their monies.

But when I committed myself to writing about my year, I realized I had to think about what REALLY happened this year.

I did everything I wanted to do this year. I signed a two-year contract, moved to Nsukka to start something different, at least I wanted to do that in January. I met great people as a result of that, people that didn’t know anything about me but went out of their way to make sure I settled in and had a great time in Enugu (some of the time). When I realized that my work would not be implemented and was starting to get disillusioned, I got a way out plus a rude awakening of course.

I saw the Grand Canyon. Had an amazing amazing trip that I was only able to do because I was temporarily jobless. Road trips, Margaritas, Blurred Lines, Vegas, Times Square, Book of Mormon. I was blessed and privileged to have that opportunity; you see 5 years ago who would’ve thought.

My family and friends are alive and well. We had a cancer scare, which we not only overcame but which brought us closer. My friends had a great year: T got engaged and is rounding up professional exams; C got a job this year, got promoted and fast tracked to manager; K got into the grad school of her choice. I lost some people this year but overall, so much to be grateful for.

I am finally doing what I have been putting off for years, looking forward to making mistakes. Just starting out but have met so many people willing to give me a chance for no reason at all. Just rounded up TEDxEuston but being part of that inspires me every year.

I spent a lot of time by myself this year, mainly living away from any familiar support system and I find that I like who I am becoming.

“What you have to decide… is how you want your life to be. If your forever was ending tomorrow, would this be how you’d want to have spent it? Listen, the truth is, nothing is guaranteed. You know that more than anybody. So don’t be afraid. Be alive.” ― Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

=============================

I enjoyed this a lot. So detached and heartfelt. Thank you for sharing Chioma.

7 thoughts on “Day 11: Chioma

  1. Jk_McDazzles says:

    i enjoyed reading this.. i think you had a lot of fun this year..

  2. Esta says:

    I love the quote you used at the end, I was thinking in that line this morning. May your 2014 be better and greater.

  3. Mimsy says:

    Thanks for sharing. Greater years ahead.

  4. Chioma says:

    Thank you, I think I had a great year, it’s easy to remember bad things, but when you have time to reflect, there is so much to be grateful for.

  5. walexemma says:

    I Loved this. Wishing you a greater 2014.

  6. Clarion says:

    I liked this. Have a splendid 2014.

  7. hrh7 says:

    Ohmyword! Finally, another Sarah Dessen fan. I bloody love her! Happy about your year btw. Have a better 2014.

Tell me what you think

