Dusk: Chychy

If you’re reading this, it means I was finally able to extricate myself from my Corporate Law Practice books to write this…
     
          

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;  
             I have summoned you by name; you are mine             
             When you pass through the waters  
             I will be with you   
             And when you pass through the rivers   
             They will not sweep over you   
              When you walk through the flames,   
               You will not be burned”- Isaiah 42:1-2  

2013 started with me writing down my prayer points and dropping the piece of paper in my dust filled, forgotten Bible. At this point, I was desperate and had given him an ultimatum; do these things for me or just let me come home. All I wanted was to laugh and not be called a liar. Let’s just say God had other plans, the drama King that he is.

You see, my mother had warned me on the 1st of January to either go back to school or get married. Not just through direct entry but to write UTME. Both were not going to happen but I couldn’t blame her for doing that. I hadn’t fully graduated because one of my lecturers held up my results and having to beg him to release it was proving to be a problem. One of the days I went up to his office, I was asked to meet him at a hotel AGAIN. This was the same reason my result was being held up but I knew I had to do something about it this year.

I called up a couple of friends, told them what happened and before I could ask, they said they were going to pray with and for me. I took myself to a Bible believing church (for the first time in about a year) and dropped my burdens at the Master’s Feet, telling him exactly what I wanted and how. God is amazing, because the next day, I went to the man’s office with my signed result waiting for me to send to my department. I watched it enter the hands of the lecturer in charge of results who said to me, “finally. I don’t know how you did it but whoever did it for you must be very powerful enough to influence Dr ___’s decision to let you graduate. Congratulations”. How could I have explained that The One who holds the hearts of kings in his hands was responsible? From then on, everything became a rush as I finished my clearance and got my statement of results.  

        

God is not a man that he should lie,    
       Nor a son of man that he should change his mind,    
       Does he speak and then not do it?     
        Does he promise and not fulfill?- Numbers 23:19  

I got admission into the Nigerian law school. That in itself is another miracle. During the mandatory medicals as part of the admission process, I was diagnosed with Tuberculosis. The day I got the test, I laughed. Hard. So hard, the doctor thought I had lost my mind. There was no way I was going to let the devil see how scared I was. I downplayed the result to my family and friends but I knew I wasn’t going to hide it for long. I took myself to my Father again. Reminded him of his promises and told him I was going back for a re-test. I did. It came back negative. Not like there was a mistake in the first test but it was obvious a healing had taken place. God had proved himself again. Time to pay the school fees came and I had no idea where the money was going to come from but the day I told Him I was ready to pay, I did. So far, school has been amazing. Stressful, but His Grace has been sufficient.

This year came with a lot of lessons about me. I learnt how strong I can be when I allow myself to. I learned that I actually have the capacity to love and for that, I am grateful.

To Kola, I’m grateful for you. I can sleep easy knowing that you have my back.
To Jan, the best man anyone can ask for. I love you. Always will.   

 

But I trust in your unfailing love;    
My heart rejoices in your salvation- Psalm 13:5

=========================

Sister, testify!!!!

10 thoughts on “Dusk: Chychy

  1. Mimsy says:

    Beautiful.
    God is indeed faithful.

  2. Christabel says:

    awwwwwwwww My Faithful BABA!

  3. Jk_McDazzles says:

    This reminded me of a friend’s story.. It made me smile too.
    Thank God for your glorious year..

  4. Mo says:

    Bar Finals, Call to Bar, you’re gonna keep testifying.

  5. deevadoc says:

    Awww.. God is ever awesome! Promises and delivers at the perfect time. It is well with you!

  6. Timiebix says:

    This song came to my heart while reading this

    Forever God is faithful
    Forever God is strong
    Forever God is with us
    Forever!!
    Testimonies will not cease in your life!

  7. tiana says:

    Had goose bumps as I read this. God is alive! Only a fool thinks otherwise..

  8. Adesewa says:

    This God ehn!!!! Only Him! See goose bumps sha!

  9. hrh7 says:

    Testimony time. Blessing time. He proved Himself for you! We shall storm Bar finals, charging with the cross in front. Much love, more testimonies.

Tell me what you think

