Day 4: Ame

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding … and He will direct your path.

The theme of this year for me is trust. Handing over all control to God. As a very strategic person, I love to make plans, I have to do lists, I plan, ponder, think ahead, weigh the pros and the cons and generally wrap it all up in my head, feeling like a G.

January 1, 2013. I had great plans.

I was gonna be married, maybe June because that was his birth month. I had quit my job in December 2012 and was expecting to start a better one in Jan. I sorta had it all planned out.

LOL

Before the end of January, I was as single as a pringle. For the right reasons, but still….I was gutted. The year wasn’t looking good at all. God simply told me ‘I will take care of you’

I got a better job after so much emotional and physical stress.. Wasn’t as easy as I presumed. Everything was just somehow…

My birthday was in February. I woke up to a blank screen on my blackberry so I couldn’t even feel good about the birthday messages or dps. Got to work and stepping out of the car, there was a rip, my lovely birthday top tore. A horrible birthday. Hmmm, dear God, this wasn’t the plan. There seemed to be a grand conspiracy. I was getting paranoid and disillusioned… What was this life sef?

March through May was a blur. Different happenings. Mainly disappointing. Mainly scary. I lost a friend.. My age mate, he died just suddenly in April. An aneurysm they said. It was surreal. One of the kindest, smartest guys ever. I began to understand that it was not by my power, but by His grace, God’s grace taking me through each moment, each day. Life was a gift to make maximum use of, to cherish, to appreciate.

June and July, I started learning to trust God completely and thank Him for the grace to see each new day. It was a better attitude. I submitted all my plans to Him and somehow I started to have peace in my life and Joy in my spirit. Things were working, things were better. My life was good.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil because You are with me.

God never promised there would not be storms, just that he would not forsake us during our storms.

In August, I had a car accident. Thought I was gonna die. I was angry with God. ‘Why? Why me? I though You said I should trust You’ I was fine but needed to spend a lot of money to fix my car. Urgh. God reminded me that I could have died but He spared my life. I immediately became thankful and contrite. I started to be thankful in everything, little or big because really, nothing is little. Trust me.

September through November, I understood that storms would come and when they come, I will fear no evil. I realised that God’s presence was all I needed. I had disappointments, a few bad things happened. But in it all, God turned each and every single one of them into my good and I’m not joking. For example, my boss suddenly started picking on me and making a lot of threats. Each day, he was threatening to report me. Finally, on the day he was going to make good his threat, he received a phone call, he was transferred. With immediate effect.. My other colleagues at work thought I was using jazz. LOL. I called my boss, thanked him for the good times and wished him well at his new place.

Here I am in December, happy, at peace and secure in God’s love. Wherever He takes me to, I will go. God’s plans are far above and better that any plan I could possibly have for myself. I’m a much different person from December 2012 and I’m amazed and happy at my growth.  It’s a lot easier for me to surrender all my plans to God, just being still and knowing that He is God.

I don’t have everything I want. I don’t have perfect days. But I have God, I have my wonderful family and I have my awesome friends. 2013 was rough but I can almost say it’s been one of my best years and that’s saying a lot. I’ve had very good years.

God’s grace is sufficient for me, for His power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Looking forward to 2014 and smiling. I don’t have great plans neither am I anxious about anything because I know God is able to do far more than I could ask or imagine, so really, I’m just gonna be still and know…

====================================

…That He is God. Amen doctor. Bless

16 thoughts on “Day 4: Ame

  1. Timiebix says:

    God is forever faithful! And trusting him through difficult and sometimes ridiculous to our simple minds, pays big time( learning this everyday)

  2. boromega says:

    Sometimes its sad knowing he is out there watching over us and yet we keep doing things not worthy of his care and protection…

  3. Lekan says:

    Better years ahead doc, how come my name didn’t feature throughout the whole year? Oh I forgot there is a sequel

  4. keiskwerd says:

    Better days ahead my darling!
    Btw, so much i didnt know from February! Imagine not knowing u ripped ur top? Hehehe……And den d accident? Thank God we r able to recap the year that has been.
    Cheers to an even greater 2014

  5. drnikky says:

    Sometimes it’s hard to be thankful when everything just seems to be going wrong bt His Grace is indeed sufficient for us.didn’t know u had an accident? I thank God for the wonderful gift of life,for when there’s life there’s hope for a better tomorrow.

  6. molly molly says:

    Awww, very good piece dear. I got teary eyed thru this piece for many reasons. Looking forward to a God’s awesomeness in ur life in 2014. Much love. XOXO

  7. Sisi Jacobs says:

    The art of letting go and letting God, may we never forget. Thank God for life and all the valleys and mountains

  8. Mimsy says:

    Better years ahead love.
    Good you learned to Trust in God. He never fails.

  9. Abi says:

    Wow. Thanks for sharing this. Learning to trust God is not easy. I still struggle sometimes. Glad to know u are okay.

  10. uche says:

    I enjoyed reading this. May 2014 be the best year of our lives yet.

  11. Jk_McDazzles says:

    To have the belief of adults, to trust like a child..

  12. david says:

    I am touched and so inspired,God bless u

  13. Anonymous says:

    Wooow ame, nice one. Never heard about the accident, thank God for his mercies.
    Nice write up by the way.

  14. anagail says:

    Trust is good. Give it to one who is trustworthy. And who can be more trustworthy than God? I wish you the best 🙂

  15. Are you still single? There’s a noble reason for this question.

Tell me what you think

