Dusk: Yinka

Welcome to the final days of 2013 and I hope you all have had loads of fun throughout the year. Shout out to @HL_Blue for hosting this review and thank you to the readers in advance.

All protocols are duly observed…

In 2013, I learnt how to make having fun and progressing in life correlate to a very cool result. This year, so many thoughts I had were changed and they improved my way of living personally. I didn’t spend money like I had a bottomless pit somewhere nobody knows about. I also performed a bit more and where it mattered in school (I play the flute), I became more responsible and I can happily say that I balanced my flair for extra-curricular activities with steady improvement in my academic results.

This Fall semester I joined the “FA” – the student body that organizes the soccer league in our school, and it has been a flattening experience. I thought all we would do would be basic statistics, scores, and just compile the table. Unfortunately, I was so drained by the amount of internal politics involved in organizing the league.

As I got appointed by our head of sports, I found out that we had a constitution that’s outdated and thus reduces our powers to being able to do nothing but dish out petty sanctions to teams that fell foul of the law, thus the punishments didn’t affect much. We had a lot issues on the pitch that really could’ve been prevented, and while some of them were resolved, it left me stressed personally and I really couldn’t wait to leave school at the end of the semester. There were problems caused by all parties involved, from the FA itself to the team officials, but I believe I’m better for the conflicts I was involved in because I learnt about which fights to cock my guns to and which ones to keep my sword in its sheath. Before all this I was just going all out on any arguments or problems I had with people and it hardly led me anywhere, so I’m thankful for being a member of the FA and I really hope we won’t have many issues next year.

My performances this year were quite mixed. In May, I played in an award show attended by teachers and the “who’s who” of the school to positive reviews. I enjoy myself when I’m on stage doing my thing, but the happiness when someone you’ve never seen in your time in school stopping you when you’re about to enter an office and saying “…I enjoyed your performance at the awards show the other day” is nothing short of magical. I had another performance on Independence day whereby everything that could go wrong went wrong. I couldn’t memorize all my notes and I forgot some on stage, and the DJ was experimenting with the beat he was meant to play on the background. My third performance was way, way more enjoyable all round, because I performed with a band. The rehearsals were thorough and fun, and even if I didn’t play a lot of songs that day, I had loads of fun and the sleepless nights before the D-day were worth it.

But 2013 wouldn’t be a fun year without the people I spent it with. At the beginning of the year, I got a roommate who understood me inside out and complemented me in each and every way. My room felt more welcoming to me whenever I was opening the door because I knew something stupid was going to be discussed, and it was much more relaxing after coming from some boring class. I had another close friend who was quite intellectual and we never stopped arguing about anything; he always seemed to have a grand plan for everything in life and I always enjoyed bursting his bubble. Even if it was just for one semester, we had a great time together and I’ll never forget the memories we spent together.

2013 hardly had any lows, but one probably would pass over to the next year. I have a Finance teacher who doesn’t know how to teach. I’d tell him to explain more and he’d dodge the question by saying we should “refer to the textbook”.  What makes everything annoying is that he doesn’t understand the mathematics involved and it makes his “tutorial sessions” so burdensome and I always leave them with headaches. One day, I got angry with him and I told him everything I hate about him, and since then we’ve had this vibe between us that isn’t exactly welcoming. I honestly wish I don’t have to do any class with him next semester.

I honestly can’t wait till 2014 though. I plan to graduate in May and I hope I don’t get distracted to the extent that I prevent that. I’m also looking to do my masters before NYSC just to get books and classrooms over with. From a more leisure perspective, I can’t wait for the movies (even if Fast 7 was postponed to 2015).

Once again, Merry Christmas, & Happy New Year in Advance

Y1nka

===============================

Sooooo this quiet Yinka is a stage performer with the flute?! Nice! This was a smooth and easy read. Thank you for sharing!

Tell me what you think

