Goodbye to August

Woohoo!! We made it!

I enjoyed this challenge. I didn’t realize it would be this much fun or this hard. At first I was skeptical about being able to complete it. Then I became worried about what I was going to put up the next day. I then moved to being worried that I would not have enough time to actually put up a post. Ideas and topics were coming effortlessly.

Shout out to Abigail, Tiana, Kelvin, Fola and Ajike who inspired five of the posts this month. Sometimes it would be a statement, a thought or a call that would trigger an idea for a post. Sometimes I would start posts and realize they were bigger than I thought. The two mini series, Goes to School and Let’s Play, I thought would be one post entries. They spiralled into three or more and based on that I struck out some other ideas. Can’t be writing about petroleum engineering or physical fitness and taking all the time in the world. Perhaps it was a door I closed but hey August has only 31 days.

Shout out to Jumoke, Ajoke, Olatox, Timi, Ebun, Tip, and Arinolaoluwa for sharing the links, commenting and liking. I do this for me but I would be lying if I didn’t say I do it for you guys too. Much love.

I went through the book of Proverbs this month too a chapter everyday in the Message translation. I failed in that challenge. I missed three whole days. Reading my bible everyday is a challenge I’m not ending this month. On the average it takes me about fifteen minutes to read a chapter and that should not be so hard to do. I guess I realized where my priorities have been all along and I intend to correct that, so help me God. Shout out to Preye for some of the verses quoted from Proverbs on the days I had to put up verses before I could read. She was my unconscious challenge partner for the Proverbs chapter a day project and I pray God blesses her abundantly.

There’s a part of me in all the characters I’ve described in my stories this month. Some of them I’m not there yet but I admire and aspire to be. I found it funny reading my descriptions because I hope I have enough time in life to build all those parts of my character.

Where do we go from here? I’ll be writing a bit more regularly here. I’ll also be accepting guest posts from anyone who resonates with the feel of 19th Street so feel free to subscribe and send in your entries too. One way I enjoy reading the 200 posts on here is by clicking on the categories on the right side. I hope with the next hundred entries we will have so much more fun here.

I have a new job in addition now 😀 I’m in charge of the Crayola Diaries on thenakedconvos.com, dedicated to the true life stories hardly anyone gets to hear otherwise. You’re welcome to read our lives there and tell us your stories there too, anonymously if you wish.

My friend Abigail is taking over tomorrow with a post everyday on 38 life defining things or moments in her life. She’s a prolific writer I respect very much but for the period of this personal challenge of mine, she went offline on her blog. I intend to do the same until she’s done with my blog. I guess that will give you the time to catch up on all the posts you’ve missed here on 19th Street, as well as enjoy her personal journey (she’s an excellent tour guide).

So what do you guys think of the blog entries this month? Do you think they were worse or better than the other ones I had more time to prepare for? Which was your personal favorite?

Thanks for staying with me through this challenge. 🙂 See you in October.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

A good woman is hard to find,
and worth far more than diamonds.
( Prov. 31:10, The Message)

21 thoughts on “Goodbye to August

  1. Lady of Wealth says:

    I’d try not to be ‘Emosh’ *wipes tears* Its been a great ‘journey’
    My favs : Heart Robber and Fake it.
    The ‘Goes to school’ series,i’m guilty and i’m not mad i liked!! (still wondering what Adebisi would do when they meet again)
    360 degrees was a school….
    I’m two posts or so behind on the chess lesson (apologies) so no comments
    The scriptures at the end added life to the posts for me…. (Tell me about the Bible reading… *sigh*)
    Thank you for allowing us follow you on this journey… Cheers to an awesome journey (Welldone) and future posts *sips chilled garri water* 😀
    Btw Abigail’s blog has been bookmarked!!!! 🙂 we shall follow steady..
    imma stop here, so i dont write another post..

  2. Eva says:

    Weldone Efe, u have been great.

  3. Abigail says:

    I must say I had a fantastic time on your blog this month. Taking time off and just reading you was just great. I’m not even exaggerating 🙂 I have learnt a lot from being here daily. One of the best lessons is not even in any post. LOL.

    Thanks for advertising my blog and I hope I wont disappoint your friends. Im not so good a writer as I would want to be, but one day at a time, yes?

    Really, thanks for the love:) And thank you Lady of Wealth 😀

  4. Ajoke says:

    *smiles* *smiles*
    We miss you and the August challenge already. I’m sure I speak the mind of everyone that was regular here this month.
    I like surprises so it was fun having to look forward to the post of the day. Had to stop wondering what it’d be about cuz my guess was never close.
    I’m asking God for a double portion of your consistency & imaginative mind.
    It’s hard to say goodbye 😥

    See you in October!

  5. hahishaa says:

    Awwwww The End. Its been a wonderful ride. (Y) *cues applause*

  6. Ebun Oluwole says:

    Aww! Started quite late but it was fun nonetheless. I’m sure I’m gonna miss it too.

  7. You gave more to us than we did to you, but you’re welcome still 😀
    ‘What makes you sad’ & 360 degrees are my faves, I think I read them thrice.
    I like the bible challenge, maybe I’l do something similar.
    Thanks for a wonderful August, looking forward to more this new month.

  8. 0latoxic says:

    My favourites: Heart Robber, Chosen and the Let’s Play series. I’m really impressed by what you did on these series. Well done.

  9. Jk_McDazzles says:

    Heyyyy! I got a mention!! Thank youuu.

    Even though it’s months later, I enjoyed reading all the posts here.. It’s one thing to do something well, it’s another to do it well consistently and that’s what you’ve done all August. Congratulations dear..

    Heart Robber was my fav. It was brilliant and beautiful and crazy at the same time. I think “Fake it” was funny., “I’m not mad” was hilarious but more sad for me, it’s painful when there’s no one to speak up for you when it really matters. And “Found”..sigh..oh what relief it must be to find that friend on whose shoulders your tears are always welcome…

    And I’m sorry I’m always the last to read..

Tell me what you think

