Things That Make Me Sad

I read somewhere that to identify your passion you should take note of the things that make you angry or sad when they’re not done well. My list is not so long.

I think the first time I shed tears while reading a book was when someone was describing hungry children picking through a garbage bin. Man is so frail. You actually have to eat everyday. All your pride and intelligence are reduced to nothing if you simply cannot find food to eat. But for kids, brought into this world against their will, supposed to be going through a playful happy induction into this wicked world, seeing them have to worry about where the next meal is coming from just touches a fibre of my being. I wish every hungry child in the world could be fed.

I think the hunger thing touches me even for adults too, because I have a tendency for ulcer. I’ve had incidents where for some reason I couldn’t eat and when the gripe pangs came it wasn’t funny. Basically I couldn’t sit up. Even after eating I would still be in pain and would have to lie down for a while to recover. So yeah, I don’t want anyone getting to that stage. I hear some people in refugee camps are so hungry that even if food were put in front of them they would be unable to eat. They have to be fed by drip. Sighs.

Closely tied to this hunger thing is my hatred for greed. I can hardly refrain from judging people who steal resources meant for everyone. You have enough to last a lifetime and more but because of your greed you can’t stop to think of those dying of hunger. Making money is fine. Just don’t steal and make the children starve as a result.

I think I watch Top Gear too much. I’m a gadget freak and to me, the car is the ultimate gadget. After watching my mates testing supercars on TV, returning to the reality of my pothole roads is not depressing. It is gut wrenching. I won’t even talk more about this.

I hate slow internet. I think my time abroad spoilt me. I’m used to queuing YouTube videos in a random playlist to play in the background while I study. I’m used to downloading entire seasons of  tv shows in minutes. I’m used to bufferless Skype. I’m used to seeing the tweet I sent appear on my TL before the phone message “Posting Tweet” disappears from the top of the screen. Need I go on? I’m very impatient with anything less than this.

Nepa comes close. That feeling of helplessness when the power goes out is something I’ve never gotten used to. I could be watching a countdown video (Top ten deadliest predators in India, 50 sexiest bodies, or the Naija Hot 20 tracks) when suddenly, just when the number one winner is about to be revealed (topping the king cobra, Beyonce and Wizkid), Nepa strikes. I’m so pained about this I feel like laughing. The generator is not the problem. It’s the interruption that hurts. Happily I’ve largely resolved this by getting an inverter. The AC, pressing iron and microwave still go off but at least the TV stays on and my sleep is never interrupted by Nepa. Thank God for small mercies.

The last thing on my list is people refusing to tell me where I stepped wrong, choosing to carry on in malice instead. I’m not going to say more than stating that the only times I’ve lost my temper have been due to this. Ok once I struggled with a bus conductor over ten naira change but he was refusing to respect my height so there were other issues involved.

So there! I don’t think this list is exhaustive but I’m sure you can add one or two things that rile you up.

See you tomorrow people.

Why would you trade enduring intimacies for cheap thrills with a whore?
for dalliance with a promiscuous stranger?
(Prov. 5 vs 20, The Message)

30 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Sad

  1. Ro33ah says:

    “…just when the number one winner is about to be revealed (topping the king cobra, Beyonce and Wizkid), Nepa strikes” -_-

    Watching someone being bullied/cheated out of what’s rightfully theirs makes my blood boil. I also hate it when anyone is being insulted because of a handicap or a birth defect.

  2. Abigail says:

    Having to walk away from someone I cared so much for because they just aren’t good for me would top my list. And then I hate seeing people cry for whatever reason:(

  3. Clarion says:

    Injustice in any form riles me, especially when it is combined with bullying as is often practiced by the police. I also hate to see kids suffer- that just breaks my heart. I hate seeing children pay for the ignorance/stupidity/mistakes of their parents too. On a lighter note, I hate to see people in ill-fitting clothes- it irks me to no end!

  4. Tomboxe says:

    Looool! “…he was refusing to respect my height so there were other issues involved.” Dude… I’m not even going to comment.

  5. tee says:

    I hate traffic. Especially the Lagos kind where you get to the end and can’t find the cause. Hate to women who are insultive, use harsh words constantly and just refuse to bridle their tongue.
    Hate noisy places a.k.a the market place.
    I’m extremely sad when I see people mourn. Never lost any person close to me, I don’t know how I’d cope.
    Hate it when people assume. You either know for sure or you don’t. And if you care enough, ask questions.
    Hate disloyalty amongst friends.Hate hat hate to think any relationship I’m in is one-sided. Its got to be mutual. I’m not Jesus. Still learning to be like him.

    Before I start another blog post. Thanks for this. Nice read 🙂

  6. Gudfella says:

    I hate those drivers that won’t keep to their lane and tend to drive in between 2 lanes. Danfo drivers are the worst.

    I trust easily and I have suffered for this a lot of time. I hate dishonesty.

  7. tee says:

    Oh…and on the flip side of hungry kids, its heartbreaking to see obese children. Their parents think they do them good by letting them indulge in all sorts but the fat (or shedding it) is probably going to be their number one problem when they grow older.

  8. Timiebix says:

    He was refusing to respect my height 😀
    That countdown one pains me too!!
    I hate people who don’t appreciate you, I’m not saying carry a megaphone and announce to everyone but at least say thank you(not in a I deserve this but will just say thanks way o!)
    People that borrow money and never say anything about it!!!! Making me feel like I’m begging money from them(my own money o!)
    People that come to church and sit down during praise n worship!!!
    People that hold up the bus looking for oyster when they know they don’t have one, then bring out £50 or £20 for £1.35 bus fare!!!
    Lemme just jejely stop here..

  9. Lord May says:

    I hate lousy people. I can’t stand them. I also don’t like it when people manipulate others. More than anything, I HATE assumptions, if you want to find out, for the love of God, ask! I get angry when I see children begging too, I always want to have a few words with their parents. Slow internet frustrates me too. You know those people that like to put in their two cents in every matter? Ughhhhhhhh!
    Thing is, a lot of stuff rile me up. Still learning to be more tolerant.
    Yeah, people that say “stuffs” DaFuckIsYoProblem?!

  10. Aarinolaoluwa says:

    TOP TEN:
    The last thing on my list is people refusing to tell me where I stepped wrong, choosing to carry on in malice instead. <—– This!!!!
    2. People that are not there for u when u need them and they expect you to automatically rise to the occasion when u need them..
    3. Judging people because of what they have been through / their past.
    4. Judging a person based on what others have said about them..
    5. People that 'bad mouth' other people, just to be 'cool'
    6. Parents with obese children and smile and call them my 'orobo' ArrrrrgH!!!!!! An aunt's friend's 10yr old son had a heart attack because he was obese, and guess what? she cries! *Hiss*
    7. People that starve cos they want to 'belong'..
    8. Ladies that 'pour' themselves into their clothes.. pls! i'm sure your size is in the market…
    9. Ladies that dress like sluts just to attract a man… SMH *HOT TEARS* My heart bleeds for them..
    10.This shld be number 1: People that do unto others what they wld never accept *SIGH*

    *Exhales* There….

  11. silentblare says:

    I don’t like sneaky people. Say one thing then go do another…smile when with a person and then go thrash talking when the person leaves. I kinda dislike ladies who over paint. Ijust cannot understand. Then I know I should be minding my business but I really don’t like folks who dress all gorgeous to church and then I use side eye to see them dropping 10 naira offering. Common!

  12. Enobong says:

    I hate seeing people suffer or be unhappy, breaks my heart. I hate injustice and greed. I hate mediocrity in any form,do what you gotta do and do it well! Oh yea, “k-leg English” ,for example: stuffs,makeups, the two couples etc. It just makes my skin crawl.

  13. I hate the feeling of despair. At unguarded times, the mind tends to wander to things that brings about a feeling of hopelessness. Not just for me but also people around me.
    I can’t really explain this.

  14. True, you do understand.

  15. Jk_McDazzles says:

    I hate being at the mercy of people, being needy or being hopeless financially, emotionally, or otherwise..
    It especially makes me sad hearing people say “I made him/her” so I avoid getting into this sort of situation at all costs..
    I feel sorry for self-conceited people that don’t listen to others too, at least for opinion poll and to fine-tune their own ideas even if it’s the best..
    I dont even know.. Whatever..

Tell me what you think

