I Wanted To Learn

Please enjoy this poem by Eghe (@Euphoria411). Thought too hard for an intro but couldn’t find any.

=======================================================

I wanted to learn and so went to school
Graduated and wanted to serve my Fathers’Land
But my accent got in the way
Guess this six feet under won’t judge me.

I wanted to learn and so went to school
Graduated and made my folks proud Alas!
So many potholes stood between us
“Yeee Oga driver look out!!!!” GBOOM

I wanted to learn and so went to school
Didn’t know I would lose my home
Please tell me its not true
That a great flood has washed away my history

I wanted to learn and so went to school
But ‘men-in-uniform’ chased me away
Do they mean my Dad is a fool
Since my tuition he couldn’t pay On time?

I wanted to learn and so went to school
Got involved in politics for positive change
But got my blood flowing in a pool
Guess I was in the marksman’s range.

I wanted to learn and so went to school
But I got bruised and smashed up
Stripped naked,bludgeoned and pummelled
I lost strength as my life flashed by
The crowd was jeering while I was roasting alive
They felt ‘cool’ while I was burning.

But I wanted to learn in Nigeria

I just wanted to learn

Dedicated to student victims of Nigerian society

==================

The remembrance procession for the four UNIPORT students killed in the Aluu communities was held tonight. Say a prayer for our Nigerian students.

The I Miss You series continues tomorrow.

12 thoughts on “I Wanted To Learn

  1. Stephanie says:

    Beautiful poem..
    May they rest in peace. Amen.

  2. Ogodogun Esther says:

    Eghe,this is realy good. I’m not a poem person but I love it. Nice 1 sis.

  3. selah says:

    Beautiful piece… With a “dirgy” touch

  4. awomike says:

    it’s bn a while i saw some one dead/or dying (due to my profession) that really got to me like the ALUU4…whether they were thieves, cultist or just unfortunate ones. they did not deserve that kind of death. they were like candles who were not blown out but melted out.
    i pray we learn in this nation
    i pray we learn to respect life
    i pray we learn to respect each other
    i pray we learn to be open-minded
    i pray we learn to think before we act
    i pray we learn to be humane
    i pray we learn to be tolerant
    i pray we learn not to segregate
    i pray we learn to call each other nigerians and not hausa, ibo or yoruba
    i pray we learn

  5. JOAN EDE says:

    Wow! That’s an intelligent write-up. May God protect Nigerian Students and every young person in Nigeria.May we find wisdom to become good leaders of tommorow .

  6. Thelma says:

    May God help us in this Country.

  7. Ann says:

    If only we can see our future, if only they knew how they were goin to end, maybe, just maybe d case would have been different, nice one eghe

  8. patience oisamaye says:

    This is sweet

  9. Evelyn says:

    A MASTER piece.
    To all Nigeria Students, keep the HOPE alive.
    To our Mudered students in Aluu and Mubi, may you all find peace in the bossom of the Lord.

  10. nyore says:

    Good stuff … Wish it was longer ..!

  11. Oriade says:

    C’est fabuleux

Tell me what you think

