Dodo

My smallie friend Deola (@deolaaa) wrote this last night. I totally agree with the sentiments expressed therein. I am saddened and angry that, in party packs nationwide, the slices of dodo are steadily reducing. This phenomenon is responsible for rising depression in the land. 😐
But I digress… Enjoy

========================================================================================================================

Like the eyebrows of Eucharia Annuobi, curved.
Like a new born baby, loved.
Like an Igbo girl, yellow.
Yoruba’s call it dodo.

Cool points of meals go higher
When they are ingested with you, the food messiah.
Friend of many, enemy of few.
Enviously, other foods watch you from the pew.

“Fleshy” “Clean” “Thick” “Erect” “Long”
How my plantain looks, not your schlong.
“Raw” “Boiled” “Roasted” “Fried”
How it’s eaten; also diced or sliced.

With vegetable, you go perfectly when boiled.
With groundnut, you look beautiful in your black patches and old newspaper “foil”.
When fried, my beans becomes a memorable experience.
The attention you seek replaced by a delightful ambiance.

I wish your life span was longer.
More than that of leather.
I wish you didn’t get burnt so fast
And have your sweetness replaced by a bitter soot.

Thanks for being there for me.
For all the times I used you as a mic for karaoke.
For those times I ate you raw and you didn’t upset my stomach.
For still being awesome despite being forced to ripen in a dark sack.

==========

Lol

27 thoughts on “Dodo

  1. barr taiwo says:

    My literature Dr (SIC)

  2. Frankices says:

    Curved, Loved n Yellow, huh? I dont like dodo/plantain tho. :/

    LMHOATWP(at the whole post). Yay! Uve written again. ^_^

    P.S. “..For all the times I used you as a mic for karaoke..”. SEXUAL! :p

  3. Taofeek says:

    After you say u don’t like food…Ofun!!!

  4. rhaiharnah says:

    Dodo..remains the center of circle of life…

    You forgot Pottage.. ^_^

  5. Pure and innocent. boli~lover anyday!!!

  6. qama says:

    TO DODO WE PLEDGE!!!!!!! ^_^
    HEAVEN BLESS YOU!!!!!!!!!
    DODO!!!!!! ^_^

  7. Mz_Shadee says:

    Lmao! Go dodo go dodo go….

  8. Unjinxt says:

    OMG! DODO IS LIFE!

  9. Georgeenah says:

    Loooooool! Ode to a plantain.Nice one Deola

  10. awizii says:

    Lovely. ^_^

    Ambience though…not ambiance.

  11. slimiphie says:

    I swear I’m actually eating fried plantain and egg right now so its really funny.

  12. weird_oo says:

    The last sentence (y)

  13. tobicomm says:

    Loool. This post is easily sexual tho. Lovely tribute. Love the way the words were put together. Plantain rocks!

  14. 0latoxic says:

    *ssmh* (solemnly shaking my head)…

    …in reverence to dodo.

  15. malota says:

    This is so sexual!!!

  16. tolsbee says:

    Haha, I’m eating boiled plantain with fried egg as I type this.
    The karaoke part tho, lol. Used to think I was the only lover of plantain now I know better

  17. P.E.T says:

    *hi5*
    I used to think I was the only one who had mad love for dodo… There should be an association though!
    And the combos are endless—- with eba, with bread, baked, fried in sauce!

  18. Tamsdiary-livelife.blogspot.com says:

    Wow I love this, and yes….I love dodo

  19. @Jk_McDazzles says:

    ..Lolsss!
    “For still being awesome despite being forced to ripen in a dark sack.” – Now this is the best line..
    @P.E.T “…And the combos are endless—- with eba…..”whaaattttt????

  20. femmelounge says:

    hilarious! lol @ truly curved like the eyebrows Eucharia Annuobi!
    now i want me some dodo!

  21. Rhaposdy says:

    blessings…..
    Trini Island girl here, love me some plantain prefer it fried (we boil it too), the darker the better the sweeter it be. There is a technique in getting it just right so it don’t taste better but sweet sweet sweet.

    Stay blessed.
    Rhapsody
    https://plus.google.com/101099217204323189067
    http://www.facebook.com/RhapsodyPhoenix
    http://www.shelfari.com/rhapsodyphoenix
    http://twitter.com/rhapsodyphoenix

Tell me what you think

