Surprise: Dolu

I may have more articles from Dolu (@MsDuro) than any other writer on 19th Street, myself included.

=========================================================================================================================

When Efe told me to write about my high and lows of 2011, all I saw was a gloomy post. Doing a quick recollection of the past months all I saw was the pain and I wrote about it. But a week after I was re-reading my write-up and I remembered what the pastor said two weeks before during evening service, “we focus on the wrong things and that’s why we think God is not there or cannot hear us or has not done anything for us.” He went ahead to quote 2nd Corinthians 4: 17-18. I held on to it and decided to be thankful for the little things I have overlooked.

2011 rolled by so fast, I’m a little bit shocked it’s December already, although I am happy the year is ending already, 2012 is looking so positive already I am pretty much excited. I have been staring at my screen for the past ten minutes, there’s so much to write about, so much to be thankful for, and a tint of regret here and there. A lot of things happened in 2011 and even though they happened to my parents, siblings, friends and those around me, it made me happy, so I call it part of my 2011 high moments. Well not that nothing happened to me this year that wasn’t good, I won’t just say it was spectacular. I can’t point to anything major like a project I embarked on and completed this year, even though I had so many ideas, so sad I know. The only major thing I did was complete my NYSC and I am glad it is over and I didn’t get any extension because I was away a lot due to health reasons.

My lowest days of 2011 were my hospital days, going in and out of the hospital, enduring the needles and staying close to fifty hours in bed watching the drip drop, or the countless number of pills I had to swallow morning afternoon and night, all the sleepless nights, etc. It was a gruesome process; I won’t bore you with it. But I am all better now, better than I was before, and I owe it to God. I was not alone throughout this period, asides God’s being with me all the way, my family stayed by my side. I can never forget all those night, my dad thought I was sleeping and he would come and kneel by my bed side, tears in his eyes, praying, telling God how much he loved me and he didn’t want me to die, begging God to take away the pain and the sickness. I can never forget my mum taking her leave from work in June, forfeiting the opportunity to come home for Christmas just to be with me when I commenced treatment and all. I am so happy she doesn’t get to spend Christmas alone; she’s so excited that her house would be full, i just cant help be happy even if i wont be there. I can never forget my sister coming home for midterm and when she was going back she hugged me crying, then I realized what my absence from life would do to my 14year old sister and wasn’t ready to let that happen. I can never forget the days and nights my immediate elder brother spent by my bed side in the hospital, when I was awake he would hold my hand and pray with me, gist with me, make me laugh, he do anything just so I could forget what I was going through. And when I fell asleep, he would stay awake to watch the drip and make sure everything was going okay.  I am grateful for those days, even though I was in pain, even though my family was shaken, God used it to draw us close, to emphasise the love we share, He was the only one we could run to and we ran to Him as a family. Oh the value of family.

Also my friends were there for me. I am not talking about the ones you graduate with and promise to keep in contact with, no, not those ones. Just a few among them keep to their words. These people I call friends are people I have come to know in 2011, strangers that turned to family members and some people I know from way back, but I never thought we would become close one day. I’ll like to say they over did themselves when I fell sick, that was the time I needed them the most and they help me fight the battle gallantly. They are part of the reason I am alive today, they believed so much in me that letting them down was not an option. Even those I met on social networks, many a times when I needed to talk, or needed someone to pray for/with me or just needed someone to encourage me, it was some of these people that I’d run to and they always created time for me. God bless good friends that stick like a second skin. My friends made my year beautiful.

So I didn’t climb Mount Everest, or find a cure for AIDS, or write a book, or get married to Ian Somerhalder (Damon Salvatore) or act a play, or co-star in a movie with Denzel Washington, I didn’t even find millions of dollars sitting on a restaurant table waiting for me to claim it >_<, even GLO did not dash me free credit, neither did I win any of their promo (I am beginning to question my loyalty) I didn’t even get a job. No I didn’t do anything spectacular this year to have my name written boldly on the front page of your dailies or mentioned in the news, but I formed bonds with strangers and acquaintances that I now call my extended family; friends, bonds so strong, stringed by love, trust, understanding and faith inspired by selflessness, each bond a blessing in its own form. I am so proud of y’all and humbled to have great people like you as friends.

All these I point to as proof that 2011 with its entire not so good times and news was worth living, and I am most grateful and thankful to God because even though I can’t see the big picture yet, I know that all of these is nothing compared to what He has planned out for me.  I was going to write a post on my birthday, appreciating you guys, but I never got to do it, so this is me saying thank you.

Hey dear, I know you are reading this, I just want you to know I am praying for you and I am trusting God that it’s just a false alarm, we’ve crossed that bridge, no going back. You won’t enter 2012 sad or depressed. Hold on to your faith. I love you.

*raises glass* here’s to good health, family, friends, happiness, love and a better 2012.

God bless y’all

====================

Dolu still needs our prayers and encouragement as she undergoes therapy.

28 thoughts on “Surprise: Dolu

  1. dr.lois says:

    You will live because God has a story to tell through you.
    I understand every bit of what you are going through and u will be in my prayers every night.
    He’s just starting with you..he will complete the work he’s started.
    Believe in the giver of life ..infirmity is not your portion.
    He will send forth his angels and stretch forth his hand.
    God will arise on ur behalf
    I wish everyone who comes here would form a prayer chain for this young lady.
    She has to get thru this alive.
    Efe-lets do something .

  2. Ritzie says:

    The Lord is your strength.

    I just said a prayer for you. I hope 2012 is all you expect it to be.

    God bless you.

  3. Ritzie says:

    @ Dr Lois – if you want to form a prayer chain or something, I’m with you. Find me on twitter…@ritzyliciousme.

  4. Georgeenah says:

    (((Hugs))) I love you darling.

  5. @Hug_Hater says:

    Sweetie, you’ll be fine. I am praying for you.

  6. Eyevee says:

    Jehovah Rapha and Jehovah Ropheka will come to ur Aid. Just believe. It is well

  7. ibetapassmynebo says:

    Sweetheart. . .
    I love you. .you know I do
    My ‘Pray your way’ can never be in vain
    And we shall crossover
    God bless you!

    • MsDuro says:

      Hahahahaha, finally got a copy on tue, updated myself immediately I got the opportunity.
      Amen, we shall all cross over into the very best of 2012.
      Love u hun

  8. edgothboy says:

    God protect and bless you in 2011 and give you an opportunity to repay the love showered on you during your period of ill-health.

  9. factorVI says:

    May God strengthen you and grant you good health. God bless u.

  10. Aidee says:

    You will make it through…. God is always with you, thank God for family and friends who are going on this journey with you, you will all come out strong.

  11. M says:

    This is what I absolutely adore about you Dolu, you found a way to strengthen me in a post that was supposed to be abou.t you You were one of the factors that helped me survive my own time in the hospital getting treatment, because you got it, you understood exactly what I was going through. Other people’s empty words of encouragement did nothing for me.
    I know that no matter what comes out of these tests I’m going for, I will survive. And you will survive. I’m dead sure. We are fighters.
    You’re more than a friend Dolu, you’re my sister, and I love you to death ( I don’t say this as often as I should)

    • MsDuro says:

      My sister, I’m so glad to hear about the test,sorry I went MIA without notice, I’ll call you soon. We are winning this. You know what, scratch that, we’ve WON already.

  12. MsDuro says:

    Your comments brought tears to my eyes, I can’t explain how I feel, so many words to say, I’ll just summarize by saying; the Lord bless and keep you all, and make His face to shine upon you and give you peace.
    Amen

  13. Chicasa says:

    God bless you dear.

  14. Kemmiiii says:

    I pray God will grant you perfect health in this 2012. Amen.

  15. hrh7 says:

    God bless you. I say it late but with the utmost sincerity

Tell me what you think

