Day 11: Nugwa

“Nugwa (@Nugwatweets) is just a Christian boy…”

===========================================================================================================================

So with the exception of a few posts the general feed from the writers on this “everybody-talk-your-own” exercise is that 2011 wasn’t the greatest year ever. Sorry to poop on your party. Mine was great. As in my greatest year yet… come back with me a little lets see why…
 
 
*Date; March 2008
Venue; University of Benin
 
It was a cold morning. It had rained all night. I had been running a fever and it made me sleep a little more. We had this demon of a lecturer named Dr. Aisien. And his was the 8 o’clock class. Once he’s in, just go back home. Don’t even bother. To make matters worse we were to have his test that day.
I walked in expecting the usual “get out of my class” retort and he didn’t disappoint. I begged him to no avail after which I resigned to not writing the test. That afternoon I walked into his office and tried to prove to him that I was sick. He asked to feel my temperature. He did. Burning hot. See me thinking he would give me a make up test. Let me quote him…

So maybe you’re sick but how does that affect me? You could be dead for all I care and all we’ll do in this department is wear black for a day, at least others will, I won’t. My point is, the only reason you’re sick is that “life” recognizes that you’re weak, and weak people get sifted out. It’s called natural selection. It’s fate’s way of telling you that you don’t belong here. The closest you’ll ever get to becoming an engineer will be to teach physics, maths or chemistry in one secondary school…

He kept on talking but I stopped hearing what he was saying. Me? Peak at being a secondary school teacher?
The drive I received from that statement was unquantifiable. I swore to myself that I would practice process engineering even it was the last thing I did.

So when I quit my job with Sprint, a Fortune 500 company, people thought I was mad. I took a pay cut because I got an offer from a firm to work as a process engineer. That was the height of my year, only second to something else which I’ll write about later. I remember sitting in front of my dual monitor computer sizing a process heater and getting teary-eyed. I felt like screaming “f*ck you Aisien!!! Who decrees over my future when God hasn’t ordained it!” I didn’t do the scream obviously… to avoid getting fired.

My low points were plenteous. But one sticks out like a period stain on a female naval officer. I remember one month when I had to call my mum back in Naija to beg for rent money. My pride was so much that even calling my own mum for money was unspeakable. I hadn’t gotten the Sprint job yet and I was two days away from getting evicted. After the phone call I sat on the floor, put some peanut butter on the last slice of bread I bought with my last $3 and wept like a baby. Those who know me know that my ego is bigger that anything Beyonce can handle. And I really mean my ego, not whatever Beyonce was talking about. I wept so hard I had a headache. But there was something about this particular low point I can’t explain. After getting so angry at God I was about to start talking to him, not praying, physically talking to Him and telling Him how disappointed in Him I was. I opened my mouth, but something else came out. A language I don’t understand. A language I hadn’t spoken in quite a while. ( Those of you who don’t understand/ believe in “speaking in tongues” should please bear with me. This is my story and my belief ). And after about 15 minutes of weeping, snorting and “talking crazy”. I finally became calm and started speaking English. I caught myself muttering the words “God, if you’re testing me, you’ll tire first… because I’ll praise you in this storm”. And with tears in my eyes, I got up and started dancing, with no music, no money and no food. I was dancing. Crying and smiling and dancing. When I was done, I sat on the couch. Deep down in my heart I felt I was not alone in my apartment, and with that feeling came my remembering the verse “God inhabits the praises of His people”… That, was a night I’ll never forget till I die…

Efe once tweeted “Nugwa is just a Christian boy”. That statement is so true. I try not to show it so as not to seem offensive, but it’s who I am. I’m NO GOODY TWO SHOES. I did too many things this year that I shouldn’t have done. Things I know go against my core being. But here I am, at the end of a year in which I matured the most. I’m 22, living a life so many of my ex-classmates speak about living in the next 4/5 years. I have nothing to be sad about. Just grateful. Grateful that God saw it fit to put me where I am today. 2011 was the year that I realized I was special in someone’s eyes, and this person has the whole wide world, rolling loosely, in His palm.
I could write so much more but I won’t. I’m smiling as I write this. Picture that smile, and think about all the good AND bad things that can cause it… yeah… That was my year… I’m out.

====================

Wow. Thanks for sharing, Nugwa. Do not miss ‘Dania’s entry in the Blog Parade tomorrow. Subscribe if you have to. See you 🙂

47 thoughts on “Day 11: Nugwa

  1. stuckinrehab says:

    Awww…. I love the pure, infectious joy in this post. Felt genuinely like you taking us on a journey!
    “I try not to show it so as not to seem offensive…” I have this problem too.
    I love!

  2. Pulchae says:

    This is the best write up yet. the indispensability of God in one’s life and the edification of the spirit by speaking in tongues. great write. love it.

  3. Wow! Wow!! I leapt in my spirit reading this like I haven’t done in a while…beautiful thing is you transferred that smile on my face…brilliant use of comparisons too, am I gushing yet?

  4. Chicasa says:

    Beautiful! I totally sync with the big ego and how hard it id for you to ask ur mum (in my case both parents) for money. I’m happy I read this, it was very comforting. God bless you more.

    • Nugwa says:

      This pride thing *sigh*… we’ll get there… It has it’s use though… makes you get off your ass and fend for yourself. independence is never a bad thing… Thanks for reading. 🙂

  5. Sirkastiq says:

    Aisien..Chem. Engrng dept…Look at Nugwa now!
    Shit I wish he could read this.

    Nugwa..I loved this and I’m sure ‘daddy’ be smiling too. Lovely.

  6. PreyingMantis says:

    Something profound about Day 11.

  7. ibetapassmynebo says:

    It is well with you
    🙂 🙂

  8. MsDuro says:

    I was talking to a friend after church yesterday, all after I said everything he said “Dolu, you can’t have the life you desire outside God. You have reach rock bottom, you can’t pray despite you want to, but if you leave God now, you’ll end up regretting it. Hang in there, God is with you. Remember, you can’t have the life you desire outside God.”
    He said other things, but I held on to these words and your post today just encores what he said.

    Thank you

    • Nugwa says:

      Permit me to slightly disagree… you can have the life you want outside God. But the pertinent question is, Through what means? and most importantly… To what end? Like rooftop Mc’s put it in thier song with cobhams “eromplaini”…”There are a million ways to get it… choose God, you won’t regret it”

  9. Fanta_101 says:

    Powerful and Deep all in one piece. Its posts like this that make me happy I subscribed 🙂

  10. Annie says:

    THIS is the entry that has done it 4 me. I can totally relate…& I think God’s trying 2 shame me a bit (He’s succeeded). We clearly need 2 have a chat…:( @Nugwa – U are an inspiration. May God continue to keep & guide u. *hugs*

  11. thatifygirl says:

    I can’t help but smile. And just keep smiling.
    Thank you, Nugwa.

  12. tobicomm says:

    This is inspiring. Thank you for this.

  13. Bond says:

    This… Rocked! 😀

  14. Chychy says:

    OMG! This post couldn’t have come at a better time. I thought I was gonna die when my friends got to go to law school and I had to come back to school cos I had a spill for courses that were obviously not my fault that I had problems with them. I cried, swore, died, resurrected & challenged God. As expected, I hid it cos it was too shameful and came as a shock to my parents. I wondered how I was gonna survive this year. But guess what? God brought the most amazing set of humans into my life & opened such opportunities that I wouldn’t have had if I had graduated.

    Today, infact almost an hour ago, I just finished writing one of the courses that brought me back & boy have I been screaming since. The exam was awesome! Was this my year? YES!!! I’ve always told God to put me in situations where I get to learn & trust him. Did that happen this year? YES!!! And I know it’s time for me to move the next level that he wants to take me to; something I’m so excited about cos of the new things I’m gonna learn.

    Thank you Nugwa 🙂 sorry for the long comment 😦

  15. MzLucyM says:

    Wow !ok this is my first time commenting on here, I just had too. This was really inspirational.like, I’d been thinking only about the sad nd horrible things this year brought forgetting the good ones, nd the most important thing, God! 🙂 thank you, for this..

  16. Mz_Shadee says:

    OMG! U shld see d huge smile on my face right now. Huge huge smile. Hmmm…..God bless u for this.

  17. God bless you for this post.

  18. doyinsola says:

    So I’m not usually a “commenter”, but this was totally awesome and inspiring. My heart is hard, and I am cynical and critical, but this moved me, deeply…

    God bless

    xoxo

  19. 0latoxic says:

    This had me so over-whelmed, I actually had a tear in my eye… still do…

    This is the post that took you from the friend-zone with me… to the brother-zone, homie.

    Thank you, Nugwa

  20. awizii says:

    My goodness….

  21. @Sisi_Yemmie says:

    Awwww….this post touched me sha. really did

  22. MzSwitz says:

    “God, if you’re testing me, you’ll tire first… because I’ll praise you in this storm”. This part. Made me smile wholeheartedly. God bless you so much for this. I can totally relate to this. God never deserts his own. 😀

  23. UberTomboy says:

    I’m so glad I went back to read this post…it really is inspiring,thank you. 🙂

  24. Kemmiiii says:

    Wow. Im glad I read this post.
    Beyonce is a perv tho.

  25. […] A friend of mine asked about my year so I though to pingback my years summary on efe’s blog. Click here to find […]

  26. hrh7 says:

    I love this post. Above all others on this challenge that i’m staying up till 6 to read. God has been so marvelous to me and i try to reflect that but you, nugwa, you just took it to a whole new level. So for that, thank you!

  27. sheun_y says:

    I should have been here December 2011. This’d have helped me immensely. Never too late. Thank you.

Tell me what you think

