Day 8: Chioma

Meeting and reading Chioma (@weird_oo) was one of the high points of my year. Enjoy

=======================================================================================================================

With the abysmal way 2010 ended, I wasn’t looking forward to anything in 2011.
Started off rough, this year. I was resigned, taking one day at a time. Days became weeks; weeks, months and before I knew it, March came. Birthday came. The endless comparison of my age to my achievements came. Depression came. I was prepared for a horrid day/week. My family/friends had other plans. Long story short, it was the best birthday I ever had. 

As everything else, the euphoria died. Back to life, back to reality. The one thing I really did look forward to was that promised vacation to NY which didn’t happen did it? No, because grandpa went bye-bye. I kind of expected to see the tobacco-chewing guy whenever I came back home, but dear Cosmos, #YouSaidNo.
No vacation.

Ach! Teepesh!

My best friend, bless his soul, pushed me. Write! Draw! Do something! Stop feeling so fucking sorry for yourself!
Saw and read blogs from links on twitter, decided to start mine, filled with my kind of stories. Didn’t care if people read or not. I wrote anyway.
Made me happy; my own private haven.

People read and liked so much, I got recommended to other people. Suddenly I was I in contact with other writers. I was like a kid in a toy store. At the back of my mind, I was waiting for the euphoria to die and send me back to my drudgery.
It didn’t.
It hasn’t.
Made friends, subdued my agoraphobia long enough to actually meet one. Cool guy.
Days rolled by.
Days to weeks, weeks to months, and now we’re in December.
Days still rolling by.
High points? Low points?
Bah.
I didn’t plot a graph of my year.
Has it been a good year so far? Despite the ups and downs?
Yes, yes it has.
That is all that matters.

=======================

Wendy continues the parade tomorrow. We still have 3 weeks of posts so now would be a good time to subscribe. See you! 🙂

18 thoughts on “Day 8: Chioma

  1. weird_oo says:

    Mine had to be the most boring. Ahwell ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

  2. Mz_Shadee says:

    Chioma *side eye o*
    Oh u were born in March? Tell me its d 25th 😀

  3. malota says:

    Let me rephrase this portion that i loved
    “Has it been a good year so far? Despite the ups and downs?
    Yes, yes it has.
    That is all that matters.”

    “As far as i have life, the year could not have been better” Sometimes seeing the end of a project is much more important than the setbacks and the achievements encountered while executing it. Nice Post.

  4. ibetapassmynebo says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 but wait. . .Efe pls explain this sentence . . .

    “Meeting and reading Chioma (@weird_oo) was one of the high points of my year”. . . .

    Oh u now read wen you meet people??? Okay. .u read chioma? Na wa oh. . .things stay happening at 19th street loutan!!!

  5. Fanta_101 says:

    Yea she hit the nail on the head. Simple, short and interesting.

  6. highlandblue says:

    Meeting and reading has turned to another thing. Lol. I meant reading what she wrote. Click on her name and you might get taken to her blog for more entertainment.

  7. Nice! So breezy I almost lost my breath for a minute there…

    “Has it been a good year…despite the ups and downs?
    Yes, yes it has.
    That is all that matters.”

    Me likey!

  8. awizii says:

    “Has it been a good year so far? Despite the ups and downs?
    Yes, yes it has.
    That is all that matters.”

    This got me.

  9. “High points? Low points?
    Bah.
    I didn’t plot a graph of my year.” <——— This iTotally get. iSee ur attempt @ modesty suggestin urs is/was borin; writers aren't known for pride or modesty, real writers that is. They just stay writin. Well done.

  10. @Sisi_Yemmie says:

    As long as your year has been good, you’re alright

  11. Kemmiiii says:

    “High points? Low points?
    Bah.
    I didn’t plot a graph of my year” I love this…
    LOOL. Ibeta!

Tell me what you think

