The Stars Shine Down

Today Uche (@TheBlackHermit) makes his debut on the Poet’s Corner… Enjoy
=============================================================

The stars shine down

Illuminating the earth all around

They kiss in a shadow

Their passion, like riverbanks overflow

A piercing sound rings through the dale

Alas, it is the lark this time, not the nightingale

Herald of the coming morn

Thus our lovers bid farewell, forlorn

For the day is their foe

Their love, it’s face never to show

So they wait for another night

When the stars shall once more their world light

So have you ever had to endure love in secret for any reason? (“Ekaette” stories dont count please) Any experiences to share?

20111008-231141.jpg

22 thoughts on “The Stars Shine Down

  1. weird_oo says:

    Simple, concise, no unnecessary ‘depth’. Just the way I like my poems. Any experiences, No. I’m a nun; unless the ‘tête à tête’ with other nuns count 😀

  2. TheSickMaven says:

    Kinda sad. :(. But Good.

  3. Awlsayntz says:

    This is smart poetry THAT RHYMES!!! It is soo succinct. The metaphors and the personification to represent lost love and hidden affection is spot on. And the best part, this could actually be just about stars. Bien!

  4. Awww… This is the kind of love I like… Under G paroles 😀

    • Highlandblue says:

      The type that allows you to have multiple side chics while winking at the new student doctors right? I’m getting you

  5. specialeffectz says:

    The poem is nice and simple. Not unnecessarily disjointed and annoyingly complex. I love it.

    I think the picture depicts a couple exploring the wild not hiding out.

    Cool blog.

  6. joan186 says:

    Please I dont like this! Why is there discrimination of Ekaette love stories?! abeg Ekaettes too can love! Because of this discrimination I guess I have nothing to share 😥

  7. Kemmiiii says:

    Haha. Ekaettae love is also Under-G o.

  8. The simplicity is jarring. It emphasises the epic sadness and the stars. Oh the stars, the secrets they hide with their light. I’m getting too deep.

    Nice one, Sir Uche.

  9. Yes. I’ve had a hidden ‘lust’ affair. I still consider myself a virgin though. 🙂

  10. 0laToxic says:

    I’m presently engaged in this weird office romance that I’ve been trying to end, we’re constantly playing grab ass and stuff, highly addictive game. Meanwhile, the woman I would rather be with for the rest of my life is seven years younger than me and no one knows about us, not even me. Then there’s this dude that lives across the street from me…

    These may or may not be true… ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

  11. awizii says:

    There’s always a lot of depth in simplicity, and I really like this poem.

  12. PreyingMantis says:

    I read this poem and some lines struck me as familiar. You realise that “Alas, it is the lark this time, not the nightingale, Herald of the coming morn” are words from Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet Act 3, Scene 5? Below is an excerpt:

    JULIET
    1 Wilt thou be gone? it is not yet near day:
    2 It was the nightingale, and not the lark,
    3 That pierced the fearful hollow of thine ear;
    4 Nightly she sings on yon pomegranate-tree:
    5 Believe me, love, it was the nightingale.

    ROMEO
    6 It was the lark, the herald of the morn,
    7 No nightingale. Look, love, what envious streaks
    8 Do lace the severing clouds in yonder east.
    9 Night’s candles are burnt out, and jocund day
    10 Stands tiptoe on the misty mountain tops.
    11 I must be gone and live, or stay and die.

    This poem isn’t original.Are you familiar with the word ‘plagiarism’? You plagiarised the words and didn’t have the decency to make reference the owner of the work and you are here taking the fucking credit?

    Complete fuckery. By the way, lousy fucking poem.

  13. Mr Mantis just lost all credibility as a critic. Have you ever heard of an allusion? I thought not.

  14. 'More says:

    Nice poem! I had a silly secret relationship in high school, he didn’t want anyone to know we were together(‘coz I was side chic no 5…lol) so we used to sneak notes and meet in lonely hallways during siesta. It was some really silly ish and we broke up after one month…:D

Tell me what you think

