The Tastebud Charmer

Today we welcome yet another poet to our Poet’s Corner. This quiet poem hints at the possibility of world peace (in my twisted interpretation). Written by Edwin (@edgothboy) for your quiet entertainment.

========================================================================================

IYA BASIRA

The sweet scent of gbegiri soup

Wafts to me as I straddle the bench

Washing my hands over the basin

In Iya Basira’s dingy shack

Perched precariously by the road

It’s a curious looking monstrosity

With arms of rusted zinc

And a skeleton of crumbling wood

Here rank and status disappear

And rich corrupt officials struggle with peasantry

For a place in Iya Basira’s line

Squatting amidst billowing clouds of agbada

 washing dirty plates to the

Embarrassment of nouveaux riche wives

The amala is torrid but soft

And the gbegiri soup, bewitchingly sweet

Men, enraptured by discordant flavours swear

Its sweetness is bested only by that of intercourse

Housewives whisper tales of fetish practices

Stews laced with human blood

Amala wrought with powdered skulls

Iya Basira smiles coyly

Neither affirming nor negating

And men flock in droves

To test their heads against

The food seller’s juju

I dive into my soup

Scooped up with handfuls of obsidian amala

But her food is not my only pull

Like a farmer who admires his crops

In another’s market stall

I come to watch others revel,

In delights that are mine to share

Savouring the culinary expertise of Sadiya

My wife, the tastebud charmer.

26 thoughts on “The Tastebud Charmer

  1. @Qurr says:

    LOL! This is cooool… you had my mouth watering at some point!

    +1 for the nice twist!

  2. ibetapassmynebo says:

    Poundololololol

  3. abimpy moschino says:

    See as u take describe food finish for here, u like food sha and ur wife go pound yam tire.. Lol

  4. Slim says:

    Awwwwww! Loved the last line. 🙂

  5. Betty says:

    I like this.

  6. 0laToxic says:

    I missed the pounded yam madness! 😥

    Love that twist though… (Y)

  7. tobicomm says:

    Nice 1. As someone said earlier my mouth was watering at some point. Didn’t think amala cud be described in such tantalizing terms.

  8. BoukkieO says:

    Lovely.

  9. jael999 says:

    Oh my… I love this.. All of it..

    Sweet..

  10. Anonymous says:

    My guy.now you’re doing the ryt stuff.splash your name all over it

  11. terdoh says:

    Iya Basira in poetry? *calls Styl-Plus* The End is near.

    Lovely piece yo!

  12. @ekwem says:

    “Like a farmer who admires his crops
    In another’ s market stall” nice

    I like this!!!e

    I like this!!!

  13. isetfiretotherain says:

    lovely! wasn’t gonna read it(poetry wears me out sometimes), but the comments drew me in. pretty flowery language too.

  14. @mrfabulash says:

    Lol, eddy, this is a fucking classic. Mama Put never sounded this good.

  15. NakedSha says:

    This is so beautiful. In the descriptive stylishness of this poem, lies it’s beauty.

  16. phoenix9ja says:

    Iya Bas for short. Hehehe. I really like this o. Ahnahn 🙂

  17. Ms Genesis says:

    ‎”And the gbegiri soup, bewitchingly sweet” is definitely my favorite line. Lol

  18. tobicomm says:

    @highlandblue: I’m actually indifferent abt it, pounded yam is wat I love. But this poem made me want to go eat it ASAP.

  19. tobicomm says:

    Or rather *indifferent to it* whichever is right ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

Tell me what you think

